top of page
Search
  • Melissa

A letter to my younger self

I am Melissa, I’m 15 and I have a very, very important message for you. I’m aware you’re just turning 4 years old and I know pretty soon you’ll start thinking ‘why am I different’. I could not understand why I was not like anyone else in my class when I was your age and it made me sad. I spent so much time being sad that I forgot to have fun, please don’t make the same mistake. You are 4 years old, you have your entire life ahead of you and you can’t spend your entire life thinking about why you aren’t like everyone else because if you were like everyone else, you would be boring.


It’s ok to not feel happy in your body all the time but you need to remember that it’s the only body you have. Everyone is different and everyone struggles with different issues but when you’re older you’ll realise that our differences are what help us become our own awesome people. Don’t feel like you need to do what everyone else does because sometimes doing what everyone else does is just trying to make yourself somebody your not. You have lots of things learn about life and right now you’re learning one of the most important ones, learning to love yourself. Learning to love the way your body works might seem impossible but over time, you’ll figure out that you and your body are perfect and that being a bit different is important.


Have respect for yourself and know that being disabled is a challenge that you are capable of facing.

I hope this helps you. I hope you start loving yourself and realise how much differences don’t matter.


Lots of love,

your older self


younger me ⤵️


 


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page