top of page
Search
  • Melissa

Internalised ableism

Internalised ableism, this is an issue faced by many disabled people and something that most able bodied people wouldn’t be aware of. This issue is caused by a mixture of society’s expectations, stereotypes and miseducation.


So what is it? Internalised ableism is caused when disabled people start believing the ableist views society imposes on them. For example, in media disabled people are often portrayed as quiet and seen as side characters. This shows disabled people (especially young, impressionable ones) that they should follow this stereotype in order to be socially accepted.


Another example of internalised ableism caused by society is disabled people believing that they are ‘a burden’. This is an awfully harmful message that is definitely one that messes with disabled people’s heads, because when you start being told that your needs are not as worthy as others. In my case, I’ve actually had someone ask one of my girls brigade leaders ‘is she not a burden on you?’ I was 10 at this point and it really messed with my brain. I started a really unhealthy habit of suppressing my needs in order to be less of a “burden”. After a while I came to the realisation that being a “burden” is not a thing. If the people around me are viewing me as a burden, I shouldn’t be surrounded by them. I am a person, and my needs are valid. Being disabled means that I face different barriers but it doesn’t mean I create unnecessary ones for the people around me. Equality should never be seen as a hardship for privileged people and preaching any otherwise is causing more issues than it is solving them.


So what can be done to fight internalised ableism? Hearing other disabled voices speaking on it, seeing able bodied people take time to learn about it, realise where they’re going wrong and preaching that your needs as a disabled person are just as important as anyone else’s. We need to work towards a society where oppression isn’t learned, but fought against.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page